How to: Turn a glass jar into a drinking glass

Lots of my food comes in glass jars that I just end up recycling.  Lately, I’ve been trying to find ways how I can reuse these jars rather than just tossing them into the recycling bin.  I came across the idea of glass etching a few times and one day when I was making Chicken Tikka Masala out of a jar, I thought I could turn this into a drinking glass.  And here’s how you can do it, too!

Supplies:

A jar with a mouth wide enough for drinking

Clear contact paper

A stencil–I found an image and cut out my own.  There’s vinyl ones available for purchase if you do not want to do this

Xacto knife to cut out stencil

A cutting surface

Armor Etch glass etching cream

A paint or sponge brush

A bowl filled with water to get the jar label off

Ready??

 

Take your glass jar and put it in the bowl filled with water. 

Image

Make sure to cover the entire jar so the label can come off easily.  Leave to soak while prepping the other items.

Start cutting out your stencil.  I used the classic feminist fist symbol as my stencil. I found the image on Google images and printed it out to fit my glass.  I cut the image out in a rectangle frame.

Image

Then, I took some contact paper and cut out the frame with my xacto knife to match the rectangle of my stencil.  Then I started cutting out my stencil.

Image

I used some masking tape and taped my stencil onto the cutting surface to avoid slipping.  After cutting with the xacto knife, my stencil looked like this:

Image

Then, I carefully placed the stencil on the glass, taking care to smooth out the bubbles in the contact paper. It should look like this:

Image

I took my Armor Etch glass etching cream and my paint brush and put on a very thick layer of etching cream.  Make sure you cover the entire stencil and then some.  Note: it will drip so it might be a good idea to cover other areas with masking tape as well so it doesn’t get on the other parts of the glass. (sorry, I forgot to take a picture of the Armor Etch cream on the glass :))

There is some discrepancy with time for how long you should leave the Armor Etch on the glass.  The bottle says a minute, but I also read 10-20 minutes.  I settled for 15 minutes.  And the results look like this:

Image

There you go!  Enjoy the summer with your awesome custom make repurposed glass jar drinking glass!!  This is now my favorite glass in the world!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

