Crafty Friday: Recycled Earring Holder

               

Hey Folks!

This Friday, I thought I’d bring you something a little different.  I recently got my ears re-pierced. Since then, I have been on an earring shopping spree, even though I can’t take the starter ones out for another four weeks.  In order to accommodate all of these earrings, I needed something that would hold them all.  I go though Altoids like candy, so I have a lot of Altoid tins laying around.  Then something clicked!  I can make an earring holder out of an Altoid tin!  With a little fabric, a hot glue gun and a cereal box (or other cardboard) you can make one too!

What you’ll need:

  • An Altoid tin
  • Fabric.  I bought a fat quarter, but you can use recycled fabric
  • A hot glue gun
  • A cereal box
  • Earrings

1. Plug in your hot glue gun and let it warm up for a few minutes. While that is warming, take your fabric and Altoid tin and roughly measure the top of the tin with your fabric to make sure that it covers the lid.  Or, you can cover the entire tin if you wish.

2. Cut the fabric to desired size to cover the tin lid.  By now, your hot glue gun should be warm.

3. Take your piece of fabric on the private side that is to be glued, and just glue one side of the fabric and quickly put it on the tin lid. I recommend starting at the hinge of the tin.  Act fast enough so your hot glue doesn’t dry.  Continue to glue the sides to the tin until all of the sides are glued.  It should like something like this:

4. Next cut 5 strips, 2 strips 3.75″x .75″ and 3 strips 2.25″x .75″.  Cut four slits evenly into the 2 strips, making sure not to cut too close to the edge and then cut 2 slits into the 3 strips, about .5″ to .75″ apart.  The three strips will fit in with the 2 strips lengthwise, making dividers that look like this:

Put in your earrings, and there you have it!  Designed to fit 12 pairs, unless you don’t mind putting in more pairs in the same slot.  Be creative!  Enjoy!

One Response

  1. […] A while back, I made a tutorial on how to make an earring holder out of an Altoid tin.  My original tutorial used fabric and have recently found something better easier to work with.  This time around, I used scrapbook paper to cover the Altoid tin.  I am quite happy with the results. […]

Leave a Reply

