Blog for Choice

So, I know my blog isn’t political,The personal is political.  Feminism and knitting are political   but so I felt that I need to blog my politics today on the 36th Anniversary of Roe v. Wade.  I know some of you reading this blog may not agree with me, but I feel like I need to blog on this historic day.  By day, I am a public health professional working in the HIV/AIDS field, and everyday I see the importance of safer sex.  I see the importance of teaching our teens about how to use condoms, how not to get STI’s, how to protect themselves from HIV.  I am pro-choice, which, to me, means much more than believing abortion is  a private decision between a woman and her doctor.  It’s about teaching comprehensive sex education, it’s about being responsible, it’s about making decisions for yourself, and feeling that the government and other people can trust you to make decisions for yourself.  It’s about respect, respecting yourself to practice safer sex, and if something happens, respecting yourself to make the decision that’s right for you.  We are all free-thinking human beings and we should be able to make decisions that are right for us, whether is it keeping a child, giving a child up for adoption, or abortion.  Now that I’ve expressed that pro-choice means to me, here is what I want President Obama to do:

1. REVERSE THE GLOBAL GAG RULE!!!!!  This is hurting women worldwide.

2.  Keep abortion safe, legal, and rare

3.  Give all women the right to make decisions for themselves

4. Give all women access to pre-natal care, abortion services, gynecological care, HEALTH CARE!

5.  Give women support post-natally, making sure children have their shots, nutrition and health care.

and

6. Make sure that the recent Bush Administration’s insult on women doesn’t become a law.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

