Dog hair pros and cons

I finally started carding and spinning my dog’s fur. It’s a little easier than I thought, but there are definitely pros and cons to dog fur than wool.

Pros: Dog hair is easy to clean. Not as dirty as sheep.
It is easy to join. It catches fast and easy
It’s free! It’s my dog and I don’t have to pay for it.
It dries fast.

Cons: It sheds like crazy!
It’s a little hard to draft
It’s clumpy, not like sheep

I really love spinning it. I can’t wait to spin up more. The yarn I’m making is turning out great and I will be posting pictures as soon as it’s done. I hope to spin dog hair for a other people soon!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

