Ahh, Goat Shares….

Yesterday I bought a goat share. That’s right, a goat share. There is this small farm on Martha’s Vineyard who is doing a Yarn/Fiber CSA and they are selling shares on Etsy. Check it out here.
They responded quickly to my questions and were very nice. I really like the idea of small farms doing this, because this way, the spinner/knitter knows where the wool is coming from and the small farm is thriving because of shareholders like me. I hope more farmers will do this.

I now have a spinning wheel. I’ve had it for almost 2 weeks and I absolutely love it. I named it Wilma. It was the first name that came to mind. It is a Fricke S160 Single Treadle with a Scotch tension drive and it is very easy to use. I’ve made three skeins of yarn already.

As for knitting, I’m working on an argyle vest by Eunny Jang. It can be found here. I just cut my steeks yesterday. What a nerve-racking experience! I don’t really like to crochet, so it was a little hard for me to do, but once I got it over with, a huge weight lifted off my shoulders. I still have the ribbing portion to do and I’m afraid I’m going to run out of yarn again. I had to wait for a ball in the mail because the place I ordered my yarn from didn’t have enough balls in stock. I’m going to call around local yarn shops to see if they have any in, so I don’t have to wait.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

